Latest News

March 10, 2020

The CMB Program would like to congratulate Hillary Miller for being awarded the Rackham Predoctoral Fellowship for 2020. 

December 18, 2019

Students, professors, and staff alike took time to catch up with food and refreshments before the years end. 

December 18, 2019

 Lulu Tseng has been awarded the Rackham International Students Fellowship/Chia-Lun Lo Fellowship for 2019-2020 academic year. Congratulations!

October 18, 2019

We had a wonderful time listening to Dr. Pam Silver's talk "Designing Biology for Diagnostics and Therapeutics" before heading to the Detroit Institute of the Arts (DIA) where science met art!

August 30, 2019

Another year begins with another fun picnic!


June 13, 2019

Chris Bidlack

Mentor: Karl Desch

Margarita Brovkina

Mentor: Josie Clowney

Devon Dennison

Mentor: Ryan Baldridge

Mark Dulchavsky (MSTP)

Mentor: Jim Bardwell

Emily Eberhardt

Mentor: Michael Cianfrocco

Sylvia Emly

Mentor: Jordan Shavit

Kamya Gopal

Mentor: Alice Telesnitsky

Wesley Huang (MSTP)

Mentor: Benjamin Levi

Jeff Knupp

Mentor: Billy Tsai

Shannon Lacy

Mentor: Matthias Truttmann

Collin Marshall

Mentor: Daniel Beard

Jonathon McBride (MSTP)

Mentor: Sami Barmada

Ashley Melnick

Mentor: Mark Chiang

Chris Pineda

Mentor: Pierre Coulombe

Madison Pletan

Mentor: Billy Tsai

Ansley Semack (MSTP)

Mentor: Jason Spence

Yi-Ju (Lulu) Tseng

Mentor: Peter Todd

Kate Van Pelt

Mentor: Matthias Truttmann

May 13, 2019

Another successful CMB symposium brought together students and faculty from all over campus to discuss their amazing work after listening to a fantastic talk by Dr. Junying Yuan, an Elizabeth D. Hay Professor of Cell Biology from Harvard Medical School. 

May 6, 2019

CMB would like to congratulate and acknowledge the following students on the passing and completion of their prelim exams. Completing the prelim and advancing to candidacy is a major step in the CMB program.


Ginette Balbin-Cuesta, Elizabeth Gensterblum-Miller, Mara Harwood, Rosie Henn, Marshall Howington, Michael McMillan, Ariel McShane, Anna Michmerhuizen, Candilianne Serrano Zayas, Andrew Valesano, Maria Virgilio, and Alexander Vizurraga.


April 13, 2019

Congratulations to Marshall Howington for being awarded the National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship (GRF) Award.  This Fellowship provides financial support for three years, over a five-year fellowship period or once you graduate (whichever is first).  Congratulations Marshall on this significant national accomplishment!

August 28, 2018


Anna Michmerhuizen - Mentor: Corey Speers 

Ariel McShane - Mentor: Mats Ljungman

Alex Vizurraga - Mentor: Gregory Tall

Maria Virgilio - Mentor: Kathy Collins

Marshall Howington - Mentor: Scott Leiser

Candilianne Zayas - Mentor: Manoj Puthenveedu

Mara Harwood - Mentor: Billy Tsai

Elizabeth Gensterblum-Miller - Mentor: Chad Brenner

Michael McMillian - Mentor: Sami Barmada

Ginette Balbin-Cuesta (MSTP/G1) - Mentor: Michael Holinstat

Rosie Henn (MSTP/G1) - Mentor: Eva Feldman

Andrew Valesano (MSTP/G1) - Mentor: Adam Lauring