Latest News

August 30, 2019

Another year begins with another fun picnic!


June 13, 2019

Chris Bidlack

Mentor: Karl Desch

Margarita Brovkina

Mentor: Josie Clowney

Devon Dennison

Mentor: Ryan Baldridge

Mark Dulchavsky (MSTP)

Mentor: Jim Bardwell

Emily Eberhardt

Mentor: Michael Cianfrocco

Sylvia Emly

Mentor: Jordan Shavit

Kamya Gopal

Mentor: Alice Telesnitsky

Wesley Huang (MSTP)

Mentor: Benjamin Levi

Jeff Knupp

Mentor: Billy Tsai

Shannon Lacy

Mentor: Matthias Truttmann

Collin Marshall

Mentor: Daniel Beard

Jonathon McBride (MSTP)

Mentor: Sami Barmada

Ashley Melnick

Mentor: Mark Chiang

Chris Pineda

Mentor: Pierre Coulombe

Madison Pletan

Mentor: Billy Tsai

Ansley Semack (MSTP)

Mentor: Jason Spence

Yi-Ju (Lulu) Tseng

Mentor: Peter Todd

Kate Van Pelt

Mentor: Matthias Truttmann

May 13, 2019

Another successful CMB symposium brought together students and faculty from all over campus to discuss their amazing work after listening to a fantastic talk by Dr. Junying Yuan, an Elizabeth D. Hay Professor of Cell Biology from Harvard Medical School. 

May 6, 2019

CMB would like to congratulate and acknowledge the following students on the passing and completion of their prelim exams. Completing the prelim and advancing to candidacy is a major step in the CMB program.


Ginette Balbin-Cuesta, Elizabeth Gensterblum-Miller, Mara Harwood, Rosie Henn, Marshall Howington, Michael McMillan, Ariel McShane, Anna Michmerhuizen, Candilianne Serrano Zayas, Andrew Valesano, Maria Virgilio, and Alexander Vizurraga.


April 13, 2019

Congratulations to Marshall Howington for being awarded the National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship (GRF) Award.  This Fellowship provides financial support for three years, over a five-year fellowship period or once you graduate (whichever is first).  Congratulations Marshall on this significant national accomplishment!

August 28, 2018


Anna Michmerhuizen - Mentor: Corey Speers 

Ariel McShane - Mentor: Mats Ljungman

Alex Vizurraga - Mentor: Gregory Tall

Maria Virgilio - Mentor: Kathy Collins

Marshall Howington - Mentor: Scott Leiser

Candilianne Zayas - Mentor: Manoj Puthenveedu

Mara Harwood - Mentor: Billy Tsai

Elizabeth Gensterblum-Miller - Mentor: Chad Brenner

Michael McMillian - Mentor: Sami Barmada

Ginette Balbin-Cuesta (MSTP/G1) - Mentor: Michael Holinstat

Rosie Henn (MSTP/G1) - Mentor: Eva Feldman

Andrew Valesano (MSTP/G1) - Mentor: Adam Lauring

May 24, 2018

Another successful CMB symposium (the 37th!) brought together students and faculty from all over campus to discuss their amazing work, listen to a fantastic talk by Dr. Dominique Bergmann, and commemorate Myron and Barbara Levine. Some pictures from the day. 

November 30, 2017

Congratulations to Anabel Flores on being selected to receive one of the 2017 SACNAS Student Presentation Awards. At the conference, the judges recognized Anabel's work, titled " Mouse Model of the Human Obesity-Associated SH2B1 P322S Mutation," as a standout among the student presentations. Her communication skills and command of the research topic were exemplary! 

March 21, 2017

Congratulations to Lindsay Moritz, who was also selected to receive a 2017 NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) Fellowship. This program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based master's and doctoral degrees at accredited United States institutions.  

March 20, 2017

Congratulations to Shahana Chumki on being awarded the 2017 NSF Graduate Fellowship!  The selection for this prestigious fellowship is based on demonstrated potential to contribute to strengthening the vitality of the U.S. science and engineering enterprise.