Latest News

May 24, 2018

Another successful CMB symposium (the 37th!) brought together students and faculty from all over campus to discuss their amazing work, listen to a fantastic talk by Dr. Dominique Bergmann, and commemorate Myron and Barbara Levine. Some pictures from the day. 

November 30, 2017

Congratulations to Anabel Flores on being selected to receive one of the 2017 SACNAS Student Presentation Awards. At the conference, the judges recognized Anabel's work, titled " Mouse Model of the Human Obesity-Associated SH2B1 P322S Mutation," as a standout among the student presentations. Her communication skills and command of the research topic were exemplary! 

March 21, 2017

Congratulations to Lindsay Moritz, who was also selected to receive a 2017 NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) Fellowship. This program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based master's and doctoral degrees at accredited United States institutions.  

March 20, 2017

Congratulations to Shahana Chumki on being awarded the 2017 NSF Graduate Fellowship!  The selection for this prestigious fellowship is based on demonstrated potential to contribute to strengthening the vitality of the U.S. science and engineering enterprise.

March 1, 2017

Congratulations to Sara Wong (Mentor: Lois Weisman) on being awarded the Rackham Predoctoral Fellowship! 

The Rackham Predoctoral Fellowship supports outstanding doctoral students who have achieved candidacy and are actively working on dissertation research and writing. This award supports students working on dissertations that are unusually creative, ambitious and impactful.


January 13, 2017

We would like to congratulate Macy on being awarded the NRSA/National Research Service Award from the NIH-National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke.  

Macy is a graduate student in Bing Ye’s lab, and her Project Title is: Mechanisms That Determine the Basic Morphological Types of Neurons.  

November 16, 2016

CMB would like to recognize and congratulate Samantha Devenport as she just received a Shapiro/Malik/Forrest Awards for 2016-2017 for study at the University of Michigan.  


October 4, 2016

Congratulations are in order to recognize Anabel Flores, who was awarded the HHMI Gilliam Fellowship! Anabel's mentor is Christi Carter-Su.

The Gilliam Fellowships for Advanced Study support exceptional graduate students who are committed to increasing diversity among scientific leaders, especially those students who will go on to become faculty members at colleges and universities.

September 12, 2016

Exciting announcement from SACNAS:  The University of Michigan chapter awarded 2016 Role Model of the Year Award for Outstanding Recruitment and Membership.  Congratulations to Carla Ramos of CMB, all the faculty and student founding members, and all current student members!! 

 If you are interested in joining, please contact Carla directly ( or  You may also learn more about the UM Chapter by viewing their UM Maize Page.

September 6, 2016

Please welcome our newest CMB student, Elaine Liu. Elaine is in the MSTP Program and is interested in understanding the pathogenesis of Niemann-Pick C and disruptions in protein quality control and autophagy.  Her mentor is Andrew Lieberman (Pathology).  Welcome Elaine!