Latest News

September 12, 2016

Exciting announcement from SACNAS:  The University of Michigan chapter awarded 2016 Role Model of the Year Award for Outstanding Recruitment and Membership.  Congratulations to Carla Ramos of CMB, all the faculty and student founding members, and all current student members!! 

 If you are interested in joining, please contact Carla directly ( or  You may also learn more about the UM Chapter by viewing their UM Maize Page.

September 6, 2016

Please welcome our newest CMB student, Elaine Liu. Elaine is in the MSTP Program and is interested in understanding the pathogenesis of Niemann-Pick C and disruptions in protein quality control and autophagy.  Her mentor is Andrew Lieberman (Pathology).  Welcome Elaine!

June 30, 2016

Please welcome our newest student, Adam Banda (Mentor: Sriram Venneti), to CMB.  We are looking forward to everyone getting to meet each other with the upcoming CMB planned events.

June 30, 2016

Congratulations to Anabel Flores who was awarded the Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award (NRSA), Anabel's mentor is Christi Carter-Su.

June 22, 2016

Congratulations to Sara Wong (Mentor: Lois Weisman) and recent alum Elaina Breznau (Mentor: Ann Miller) who won the PIBS Graduate Student Award for Excellence in Service.

Nominees must have demonstrated: 

  • effectiveness and creativity in events/programs
  • effective interactions with students—both inside and outside the university
  • service to the University and/or its community— various committees, event management, and outreach activities 
June 17, 2016

We would like to welcome the following new students that have joined the Cellular & Molecular Biology program:

Samantha Devenport - Mentor (C. Brenner)

Ameya Jalihal - Mentor (N. Walter)

Brian McGrath - Mentor (S. Bielas)

Hillary Miller - Mentor (S. Leiser)

Lindsay Moritz - Mentor (R. Trievel)

June 17, 2016

CMB would like to congratulate and acknowledge the following students on the passing and completion of their prelim exam.  Completing the prelim is a major step in the CMB program and they deserve to savor and appreciate the moment!


Breane Budaitis, Maxwell DeNies, Quinn Ellison, Jaclyn Fingerhut, Anna Gormley, Katelyn Green, Steve Grzegorski, Hannah Hong, Adam Krieger, Henry Kuang, Alyssa Miller, Samir Nath, Patrick O'Hayer, Eric Perkey, Ronald Siebenaler, Jane Song, Noah Steinfeld and Molly Thorson

April 25, 2016

Dear CMB Students and Faculty,

I am pleased to announce our latest recipients of honors from the National Science Foundation.


For 2016, Breane Budaitis (Kristen Verhey’s lab) has been awarded an NSF Graduate Research Fellowship and Jaclyn Fingerhut (Yukiko Yamashita’s lab), Hannah Hong (Mara Duncan’s lab) and Alyssa Miller (Jason Spence’s lab) have been awarded Honorable Mentions. Please join me in congratulating Breane, Jaclyn, Hannah, Alyssa and their mentors.


On behalf of CMB and all of our NSF applicants this year, I’d like to thank Elaina Breznau, Ciara Reyes, Max Denies, Brianne Docter, Ann Miller and Allen Liu for holding our NSF GRF workshop in the fall of 2015.  We plan to continue this tradition next fall.

All the best, 

Bob Fuller